Department of Geography and Environmental Sustainability


Home > People

Grad Students

Akumaga, Uvirkaa

Photo

Hydro-Climatic studies. Drought prediction and mitigation in sudan and Sahel region of nigeria.

Email: Uvirkaa.Akumaga-1@ou.edu


Bamzai, Aparna

Photo

Aparna Bamzai is a full-time employee of the South Central Climate Science Center (http://southcentralclimate.org/) and a part-time doctoral student working with Dr. Kirsten de Beurs on vegetation-climate interactions.

Email: aparna@ou.edu


Bertrand, Darrian

Photo

Darrian Bertrand graduated from the University of Oklahoma’s School of Meteorology with a Bachelor of Science in meteorology, as well as a minor in mathematics and GIS. She is a current student in the Geography Master’s program, focusing on applied climatology. She currently works with the Southern Climate Impacts Planning Program and the South Central Climate Science Center at OU, with Dr. Mark Shafer and Dr. Renee McPherson.

Email: darriannoyes@ou.edu


Buerger, Claude

Photo

Email: claude.l.buerger-iv@ou.edu


Castleberry, Becca

Photo

Sustainability perceptions and decisions within businesses, community-level impacts of renewable energy.

Email: Becca.C.Castleberry-1@ou.edu


Derry, Diana

Photo

Diana is a Feminist Geographer with a Bachelor of Science in Sociology and Geography from the University of Oregon.  She is currently a Master's Student with interest in Feminist Theory, Masculinity, Cultural Geography, Qualitative GIS, PGIS, and Social Justice.

Email: diana.derry@ou.edudiana.derry@ou.edu


Fitzpatrick, Kimberly

Photo

Email: kimberly@ou.edu


Gerber-Chavez, Logan

Photo

Email: lmgc@ou.edu

Logan graduated from Texas A&M's College of Geosciences with a Bachelor's of Science in Geography, a minor in Meteorology, and a certificate in Comparative National Governments in Political Science. She is currently researching natural disasters as catalysts for international and domestic climate change mitigation and adaptation policy. Her academic interests also include climatology and environmental justice.


Griffin, Austin Home

Photo

Interests include fisheries/wildlife biology, GIS, and Biogeography, working with the Oklahoma Biological Survey and the Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation's fisheries lab.

Email: ausgriff@ou.edu


Hanson, Kyndra Home

Photo

Email: kyndra@ou.edu


Hardwick, Daryn Home

Photo

Interests include: Biogeography, Ecological modeling, Climate change impacts on ecology, GIS, Cartography, FOSS4G, and the Customization of GIS software.

Email: dhardwick@ou.edu


Hatzis, Joshua

Photo

Email: jjhatzis@ou.edu


Hinchliffe, Madeline

Photo

Environmental economics.

Email: mhinchliffe1@ou.edu


Holtzman, Laura

Photo

Email: lauraholtzman@ou.edu


Kingfield, Darrel

Photo

Darrel is a meteorologist working full-time at the Cooperative Institute for Mesoscale Meteorological Studies at NOAA's National Severe Storms Laboratory and working towards his Ph.D. with Dr. Kirsten de Beurs. His graduate research involves the multi-sensor identification and evaluation of damage from tornadoes and how land cover contributes to this process.

Email: darrel@ou.edu


Klemm, Toni Home

Photo

Applied Climatology, development of seasonal climate forecasts for agricultural decision-support.

Email: toni@ou.edu


Lai, Chih-Yu

Photo

Geographic information science.

Email: cylai@ou.edu


Magee, Chloe

Photo

Chloe holds a Bachelor of Science in Geographic Information Science with a minor in Meteorology. Research includes spatial data applications such as climate and weather impacts and various data mapping. Her academic interests include: hazard mitigation, climate perceptions, and GIS as a decision support system.

Email:  chloe.magee@ou.edu


Moreno Gutierrez, Maria

Photo

Email: maria@ou.edu


Morren, Sophia

Photo

Geography of education and how inequalities affect both urban and regional development, in addition to the need for education in environmental and sustainability movements.

Email: smorren@ou.edu


Mustain, Monica

Photo

Monica is working toward a M.S. in Geography. Her research is focused on using GIS in urban planning, specifically modeling pedestrian transportation networks. After completing the M.S., her goal is to work as a spatial analyst for a private consulting company.

Email: mustain@ou.edu


Nikoltchev, Borislav

Photo

Interests include: political economy and political ecology in Southeast Asia, specifically how less developed ethnic minorities cope with the fact of being in a state regardless that their social organization does not require they to be part of it.

Email: Borislav.Nikoltchev-1@ou.edu


Pavlowsky, Caroline

Photo

People-land relationship.

Email: cpavlowsky@ou.edu


Silvis, Virginia

Photo

Virginia has a background in Earth Systems Engineering and Meteorology with research interests in public policy and governance issues around atmospheric natural hazards. Some of her current research includes how scientific information is being used in flood control policy in Louisiana, the market for severe weather preparation in Central Oklahoma, and how gender and socio-economic status affect long-term recovery from tornadoes.

Email: virginia.silvis@ou.edu


Sleight, Nathan

Photo

Nate currently has B.S. in Fisheries and Wildlife Management and is now pursuing a M.S. in Physical Geography. Currently Nate is researching stream fragmentation and infrastructure condition within the Great Plains. This research is an extensive field survey looking at the condition and passability of road stream crossings throughout the state. Nate is also a memebr of the University of Oklahoma Fishing team and has a passion for all things outdoors.

Email:  nsleight@ou.edu


Spade, Daniela

Photo

Background in Atmospheric Science and Environmental Science with research interests in hydrological science, atmospheric and spatial sciences. Current research in applying a high performance computing cluster and fully distributed hydrologic model to studying the hydrologic response of a watershed to a major land-cover change event.

Email: dspade@ou.edu


Standridge, Ashlee

Photo

Email: ashleestandridge@ou.edu


Swamy, Ashley

Photo

Interested in feminist geography in India and ideas about Indian womanhood. Currently working on a visual interpretation of a feminist video and audience reception.

Email: aswamy@ou.edu


Thompson, Emily

Photo

Interests include: LIDAR, shrinking cities, land cover classification, remote sensing, spatial statistics, and GIS.

Email: esthompson@ou.edu


Wagner, Melissa Home

Photo

Email: mjwagner@ou.edu